Lee, Rowlands, Reynolds to receive honorary Academy Awards

BEVERLY HILLS, Calif. (AP) — Spike Lee, Gena Rowlands and Debbie Reynolds are the season's first Oscar winners.

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced Thursday that the filmmaker and two actresses will receive honorary Academy Awards Nov. 14 at its annual Governors Awards ceremony in Hollywood.

Lee and Rowlands will receive honorary Oscars for their career achievements. Each has two previous nominations.

Lee's came for his original screenplay for 1989's "Do the Right Thing" and for his 1997 documentary feature, "4 Little Girls." Rowlands' were for lead actress in 1974's "A Woman Under the Influence" and in 1980's "Gloria."

Reynolds, a best actress Oscar nominee for 1964's "The Unsinkable Molly Brown," will receive the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award for her more than 50 years of work promoting awareness and treatment of mental health issues.

"The Board is proud to recognize our honorees' remarkable contributions at this year's Governors Awards," said academy president Cheryl Boone Isaacs in a statement. "We'll be celebrating their achievements with the knowledge that the work they have accomplished - with passion, dedication and a desire to make a positive difference - will also enrich future generations."

This article was from The Associated Press and was legally licensed through the NewsCred publisher network.